Serving Whitman County since 1877

Farm fuel tax exemptions fail to pass

Bill introduced by Rep. Schmick and Rep. Dye fails to advance in Senate

OLYMPIA — Farmers and ranchers will likely continue to be taxed on agricultural diesel fuel after House and Senate committees last week failed to advance exemption bills.

Senate Bill 5728, introduced by Sen. Perry Dozier, R-Kennewick, and co-sponsored by Sen. Mark Schoesler, R-Ritzville, didn’t make it out of the Senate Environment, Energy and Technology Committee.

House Bill 1780, introduced by Republican Reps. Joe Schmick of Colfax and Mary Dye of Pomeroy met a similar fate in the House.

The bills were designed to implement tax exemptions for farm diesel and other non-roadway fuels levied un...


Reader Comments(0)